Learning Skills Services can help you learn a variety of scholastic skills, including time management, study strategies, information organization techniques, exam preparation, and much more.These services are available forallcurrent King's students. Individual appointments with a learning skills strategist, sessions with peer learning coaches, and exam prep workshops are available to assist you in achieving your academic goals.

Individual Appointments with the Learning Skills Strategist

Students can discuss individual issues and concerns about a range of learning skills with the Learning Skills Strategist. Students can come in for a single session to address a particular problem (e.g.breaking down a big assignment into manageable tasks), or multiple sessions for more pervasive problems (e.g.procrastination) that may require substantial support for skill development.

STARS Learning Lab (W022) – Opening in September 2018

Get help from a friend -- the learning lab utilizes a peer-led coaching model to provide strategies, support, and guidance for relevant learning skill development and assist students in discovering how technology can be used appropriately to help them become a more organized and effective student.

Appointments with a Peer Learning Coach are available on Tuesdays 1:00-6:00pm and Thursdays 1:00-4:00pm. Drop-in hours are on Wednesdays 1:00-4:00pm.

(STARS Logo)

To schedule an individual appointment with our Learning Skills Strategist or with the Peer Learning Coaches in the STARS Learning Lab, please stop by Wemple Room 151, or call our office at 519-433-3491 ext. 4321.

Studying for Exams Seminars

Drop-in seminarsare provided on a range of exam preparation topics, including multiple choice exams, essay exams, and study planning. These seminars are held several times each term in the King's Student Life Centre Room 119. These workshops are eligible for Brain Bucks for students in Residence.

Seminar Schedule
Fall 2018
 
Winter 2019

Tues Oct 16

---

1:30pm

 

Tues Feb 12

---

1:30pm

Wed Oct 17

10:30am

1:30pm

 

Wed Feb 13

10:30am 

1:30pm

Thurs Oct 18

10:30am

---

 

Thurs Feb 14

10:30am

---

Tues Nov 27

---

1:30pm

 

Tues Mar 26

---

1:30pm

Wed Nov 28

10:30am

1:30pm

 

Wed Mar 27

10:30am

1:30pm

Thurs Nov 29

10:30am

1:30pm

 

Thurs Mar 28

10:30am

1:30pm