Award Winning History Students Congratulations to the History Department's Award-Winning Students

History Awards 2013

Nicholas Davis - Academic Discipline Award
Danielle Brouwer — The Jennifer Samways Scholarship
Ian Kerr — The Gerald W. Cadman Memorial Award
Nicholas Davis — The J.M.S. Careless History Club
Scholarship

The Department of History is pleased to announce that three of its recent graduates have been awarded prestigious scholarships: □ Diana Teresa Tovar Ramirez (Class of '09) is the recipient of a Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Canada Graduate Scholarship (CGS). Teresa will be pursuing an MA in Latin American history at UWO. Her work examines the impact of popular culture on the history of race relations on the Columbia Pacific Coast. □ Nicole Sedgwick (Class of '09) is a recipient of an Ontario Graduate Scholarship (OGS). Nicole will be studying for her MA at Carleton, examining public education in Ontario during the Second World War. ☐ Michael Del Vecchio (Class of '07) received an Ontario Graduate Scholarship to complete his MA at Nipissing University. His research examines the roles of culture (angling) and science (aquaculture) in the creation of fisheries management on Ontario's inland lakes in the 20th century. Michael received a second OGS award for the 2010-2011 academic year and is undertaking doctoral studies in the Department of History at UWO. Past Award Winners Sam LaFrance (Class of '08) received a CGS award and studied for his MA at the University of Toronto. ☐ Maggie Lopatowska (Class of '08) received a CSG award and did her MA at UWO. She is currently pursuing doctoral work in history at Western. □ Matthew VanderHeide (Class of '08) was UWO's first-ever undergraduate recipient of a Hannah Medical History Fellowship, and went on to study for his MA at UWO